Membership on the Journal

Members are chosen each year from the upcoming class of second year students. Along with several of the other journals on campus, we select out members through the summer joint write-on competition. In addition, a relatively small number of students grade on to the journal.

Transfer students should contact Jeff Mastrianni immediately if interested in membership on the Connecticut Insurance Law Journal. Transfer students must submit a resume and either a writing sample containing a minimum of twenty footnote citations or a writing sample and a completed bluebook exercise, which will be provided upon request.

Our members have a broad background of skills and academic interests. Some current members have years of experience in the insurance industry. Although we encourage all members to take an insurance law class by the end of their second year, many people do not do so until the spring of that year. In their first year, new members complete approximately four to six cite checks and write a note or a comment. In their second year of membership, most members choose to run for a position on the Editorial Board. Please contact Jeff Mastrianni for inquiries about membership.

Editorial Board



Jeff Mastrianni

Managing Editor 

Ashely Noel


Assistant Managing Editor

Courtney Hays


Administrative Editor 

Cheryl Povilonis

Executive Editors 

Paul Arce

Liam Bailey

Alexandra Crean

Mike Randall


Notes & Comments Editors 

Pamela Bass

Alison Iannotti

Melissa Lauretti

Hannah Reischer

Lead Articles Editors 

PJ Anastasio

Emily McDonnell

Research Editor 

Eva Kolstsad

Legal Abstracts Editor

Michael Hernandez

Symposium Editor

Emily Deans


Technology Editor

Nicole Ackerman


Competition Editor

Michael Pellin


Associate Editors

Stephen Finucane

Liza Fletcher

Rollin Horton

David Lachance

Ryan McLean


Student Advisor

Marissa Arnold

  Faculty Advisor

Patricia A. McCoy


Anna Boyle
Joe Brown
Greg Chase
Meredith Clark
Lauren Denault
Lara Marie Edmonds
Nick Horan
Isis Irizarry
Joey Krevolin
Andrew Lacaria
Jonathan Lamantia
Dan Loftus


Cara McSweeney
Sean Meegan
Steve Morelli
Jess Perkowski
Shruthi Reddy
Lara Sandberg
Ken Shea
Danielle Jaffee